January Window

 

I can’t believe I actually finished this book. Not because it was long or hard to read… I just… I didn’t like it. But if I only ever wrote about books I liked then you’ve never know what I don’t like.

Title: January Window

Author: Philip Kerr

Let’s start off with the blurb on this book:

“Everyone knows football is a matter of life and death. But this time, it’s murder. Scot Manson is the team coach for London City FC and an all-round fixer for the lads. Players love him, bosses trust him. But now the team’s manager has been found dead at their home stadium. Even Scott can’t smooth over murder …but can he catch the killer before he strikes again?”

It sounds interesting if you feel like reading a crime book right? right? yeah… uhm about that.

Okay so I picked up this booking for a good mystery while I was in France. I’d finished the one Harry Potter book I’d taken with me and Nice was the next place that would have a book store eight an English section. Well by English section I mean it was 2 small shelves filled with books I already owned like The Fault In Our Stars, Harry Potter and Game of Thrones. I was intrigued by this book, it caught my attention. I thought I know a bit about soccer and there’s a crime here, why not.

First impressions: 

  • This book is very much about soccer
  • They’re setting up the plot by setting up the characters and leading up to the characters death to give you a full picture
  • Good character development – interesting good characters
  • If I didn’t want to know who the murder was and I had another book I would put this book down

Yes. I know. That took a drastic turn. I started to loathe this book and honestly had I had another book I would have stopped reading this book.

First off this book is meant to be about a murder but it was more about soccer than a murder. The plot started by introducing you to Scott Manson the coach of City Football Club and the daily ins and outs of his position at the club – who he deals with, yelling at players, managerial duties – everything. I’m a fan of setting the scene, the reader needs to understand what’s going on and what the character does, but it didn’t stop. I knew more about Scott’s general life than I did about the murder.

Talking about the murder… for the first half of the book there was no murder. I was reading this book, getting to know the character who gets murdered… because he wasn’t dead. Scott’s other friend who is mentioned at the start of the book actually dies first. I personally didn’t feel like this was a good move plot wise because it really confused me. It made me feel like maybe this was the murder which was going to be investigated, but the blurb specified differently – I didn’t really know what was going on.

BUTTTTTTT I had spent too much time on this book – and well I didn’t have anything else to read so on forth I went.

It was probably about half way through the book that the murder actually happened – now I was captivated. I wanted to know what happened, how it happened, who did it, why did it happen? But it was still all about soccer? WHAT IS GOING ON HERE?!?!

Seriously this book had me so confused. The author really knew what was going on with character development, I felt like I really knew the characters, but I didn’t know what was going on in the story. There was so much soccer stuff that was filtered in between the actually plot that I didn’t feel attached to any characters – I felt like as soon as I’d get to know a character some soccer fact or something in the soccer world would happen and your attention would then be there instead.

I don’t know much about soccer. I watch soccer, my boyfriend plays soccer, my best friend plays soccer, but ask me anything about the actual world of soccer over in Europe and I’ve got nothing. The January Window was a good insight into that but that’s not why I picked up this book. I picked it up to read a book about a murder, not a book about football.

If you’re a football fanatic that enjoys in the ins and outs of a manager in the game, I’d recommend you check it out. But if you’re after a book about a murder – steer clear and find something else to read.

Hope this finds you well

– Kat xx

Leave a Reply

